Arkansas High Schools Receive College Readiness Award

LITTLE ROCK—The Arkansas ACT Council recently awarded twenty state high schools with a 2012 College Readiness Award for significantly increasing ACT Composite scores over the past five years, increasing or maintaining participation in the ACT and improving student college readiness.

The high schools receiving the award are: Barton-Lexa High School, Bentonville High School, Bryant High School, Conway High School East, Cross County High School, Cutter Morning Star High School, Gurdon High School, Haas Hall Academy, Harmony Grove High School (Benton), Kirby High School, Lamar High School, LISA Academy, Melbourne High School, Mineral Springs High School, Mount-Vernon Enola High School, Newport High School, Poyen High School, Spring Hill High School, Valley View High School and West Side High School (Greers Ferry).

“We are proud of this recognition of accomplishment which places these schools in an elite group,” said Education Commissioner Dr. Tom Kimbrell. “Receiving the 2012 College Readiness Award can only happen as a result of the commitment and dedication of staff, students and parents to focus on college and career readiness.”

Approximately 88 percent of Arkansas seniors took the ACT in 2012. Some Arkansas schools’ scores have increased substantially during the past five years indicating students are using their score results to make improvements to their college readiness levels.

Secondary and postsecondary educators make up the Arkansas ACT Council, while advising ACT Inc. on the utilization of ACT services and programs in Arkansas schools and colleges. ACT is a nonprofit organization responsible for the ACT test, a college admissions and placement test taken by more than 1.6 million high school graduates every year.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *