Ten Students Compete to Represent Arkansas in the U. S. Senate Youth Program

A special selection panel interviewed ten outstanding Arkansas high school students who are competing for an opportunity to serve as state delegates to the 51st Annual U. S. Senate Youth Program (USSYP).  The interviews were held on Wednesday, November 7, 2012, in Little Rock.  Following their individual interviews with the program panel, the students and their guests attended a special luncheon.  Shane Broadway, interim director of the Arkansas Department of Higher Education, was the luncheon speaker.

Since 1962, two student leaders from each state, the District of Columbia, and the Department of Defense Education Activity have spent one week in Washington, D.C. seeing national government in action.  Delegates visit with national leaders on Capitol Hill and at the White House, the Supreme Court, the Pentagon, and the Department of State.  Each delegate is also awarded a $5,000 college scholarship.

Through the program, over 5,000 young people have had this lifetime experience.  Each year, 104 delegates from across the nation have expenses paid as guests of the William Randolph Hearst Foundation.  Next year’s program will be held in Washington, D.C., from March 9-16, 2013.

The Arkansas students and their schools were:  Brandy Britton, Lincoln High School; George Elrod, Central High School, Little Rock; Erin Langley, Beebe High School; Adam Lowry, Westside High School, Jonesboro; Jace Motley, Conway High School; Erin Nelson, Hackett High School; Savannah Skidmore, Calico Rock High School; Keegan Wilbur, Eureka Springs High School; John Williams, Greene County Tech High School; and Lauren Williams, Wynne High School.

The selection committee will make recommendations to the Arkansas Commissioner of Education.  The final two delegates and two alternates will be announced in December. For more about the program, visit the United States Senate Youth Program website at http://www.ussenateyouth.org.


Leave a Reply