Murry Named Arkansas Superintendent of the Year

Congratulations to Dr. Greg Murry, superintendent of Conway School District, who was recently named 2013 Arkansas Superintendent of the Year. Dr. Murray received the special award during a dedication ceremony for the new Conway high school campus on September 16.

Dr. Murry has served as the school superintendent for Conway since July 1, 2007. Previously, he served nine years as the assistant superintendent for business affairs for the Springdale School District.

The award program is administered by the American Association of School Administrators (AASA), and sponsored by ARAMARK Education, ING and AASA. Award candidates are nominated, and then judged on leadership for learning, communication, professionalism and community involvement.

A national blue-ribbon panel of judges will select four finalists, from the 49 eligible State Superintendents of the Year, to compete for the National Superintendent of the Year Award. The recipient of the national award will be announced at the AASA National Conference on Education in Los Angeles in February.

Dr. Murry received his doctorate in educational administration from the University of Arkansas in 1996 and has been a school administrator for 21 years. Before entering administration, he taught choral music in the Pulaski County Special School District for six years.

Leave a Reply