Arkansas Schools Designated as National Blue Ribbon Schools

Three Arkansas schools were recently named 2012 National Blue Ribbon Schools by the U. S. Department of Education.  Forest Park Elementary in the Little Rock School District and Russell D. Jones Elementary in Rogers are among 219 public schools receiving the special designation.

The award is based on a school’s overall academic excellence or for making significant academic improvements.

Also, Little Rock Christian Academy was one of 50 private schools nationwide to be designated a Blue Ribbon School this year.

Blue Ribbon schools will be honored at a ceremony on November 12-13, 2012, in Washington, D.C.  Each school will receive a plaque and a flag to signify their status as National Blue Ribbon Schools

The Blue Ribbon School program recognizes schools in one of two categories. There are “exemplary high performing” schools that are among a state’s highest-performing schools as measured by state or nationally standardized tests. Forest Park and Little Rock Christian are in that category. There are also “exemplary improving” schools, such as Russell D. Jones Elementary in Rogers, which have at least 40 percent of their students from disadvantaged backgrounds demonstrate the most progress in improving student achievement levels as measured by the tests.

For more information about the program, visit

Leave a Reply